Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Beijing Diaries: Universities in China

(Beijing Diaries was a monthly journal where I shared by China experience with my family and friends through email)

Date: 05 October 2010

ni hao,

Peking and Tsinghua are the two best universities in China and in certain subject areas considered the best in the world. I had been to Peking University to enquire about higher studies.

I found the people here are quite crazy about universities. I saw a huge crowd in front of the college with people taking pictures, old, young and babies, age not being a constraint and taking a tour of the university. The university is very huge. As one enters the campus gate there are helpers or volunteers (about 100 of them) who are there to guide and direct a person to reach a building inside the campus. I was helped by one such volunteer to reach ‘The Department of Psychology’ and also ‘The office for the Foreign students’. Unfortunately no one were available for getting the information since the university was closed for holidays. The university office was closed due to Autumn festival holidays. I met a Egyptian who had come to study Chinese. Interesting isn’t it! Hopefully I shall be able to get information in English language the next time I go back to the university after it reopens. I shall visit again after October 10th once the university reopens after holidays.

As a Chinese proverb goes “Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere”. Hence I am on a quest for learning and knowledge. Thus continues my journey of ‘Treasure Hunt.’

Xie Xie