Tags

, , , , ,

April 27, 2016 #Day7

Konnichiwa,

‘Sushi and Sake’. What more does one need in Japan!

The highlight of the day is going to a sushi bar and exploring Japan sushi. Sensei took Kinoshita San and me to a famous sushi restaurant called Mori Mori sushi. It was a different and new experience for me, sushi flowing in a sushi train, the ones I have seen on TV. I have explored almost all of the Japanese restaurants in Bangalore but none like the one here. One thing I learnt today about Japanese cuisine is the difference between a Sushi and a Sashimi. Ofcourse, how significant would my trip to Japan be if I did not try out Sushi in the Sushi land.

After Sushi, we went to explore the next best thing in Japan – Japan Sake (Rice wine). I did Sake tasting, tried out different types of Sake at a Sake shop here, which is housed in one of the very old house (250yrs old) Edo period house.

We also explored a famous bakery in the locality. They have something which looks like cake/ cup cake but I suppose its made of rice. Most of the snacks in Japan are made from rice. Perhaps, because rice is grown abundantly with vast rice fields everywhere. The bakery dish was yummy. No wonder despite my running, I am putting on weight because of the yummy delicacies.

We returned to JAIST, and as per my appointment I went to explore JAIST Gallery. It is a small gallery but designed beautifully. It has a good ‘Nob Collection’ puzzles, one of the greatest puzzle collections in the world. Nob stands for Nobuyuki Yoshigahara, a world famous Japanese puzzle inventor and collector.

I also did my first laundary session today. The washing machine cleaned my clothes spick and span, with 100% drying.

That’s the update for the day. Yet again, I hope to wake up early and kick start a happy morning with jogging.

Kanpai (Cheers)

-Archu Puttu Fluto